Troubling Journalism?

I continue to be troubled by the trend of my noble profession of journalism and wonder whether I ‘retired’ too early.

Not that I could change the world, but am just saying…

In my time, I had the pleasure of working with some of the Caribbean’s leading journalists, particularly during my stint at Radio Antilles and filing for the Caribbean News Agency, Associated Press and BBC Caribbean.

I believe these were some great years and I look back and cherish those moments, thankful that my career started then and not now.

Why do I say that?

There is the lack of respect by many for the journalist and the lack of ethics that some journalists portray that worries me.

This would not be the first time that a journalist has been threatened with imprisonment or worse, for in fact, the history books would record where journalists have been kidnapped and even put to death for doing their job.

This would also not be the first time that journalists have compromised ethics for a scoop.

In the international media, as it relates to the British Virgin Islands, there is that leak of information that can damage the financial services industry of this Territory. Financial services is one of the economic twin pillars of these islands and its loss or any part thereof can be debilitating.

What the international media has to gain by publishing this information is beyond me!

We also have a situation here in the Virgin Islands where an online news agency, in my view, has breached protocol by accepting highly confidential information leaked from the government (nothing may necessarily be wrong with that), but has published that information ahead of it being made public in the House of Assembly, all in the name of upstaging its media competitors.

This may be arguable from the point of view that ratings are important, the information would eventually be made public anyway and most of all that the information is factual and perhaps even warrants an investigation into the workings of government.

On the other hand, was it critically important to release the information days ahead of it being officially released? In fact, in this case, we see that although the Report was eventually laid on the Table of the House of Assembly, which then made it a public document, it was later withdrawn because of questions raised by the Opposition!

Of course, the credibility of the news agency is being called into question now. I am personally disappointed in this news agency, which I considered the more professional of the lot. Now I wonder.

I believe timing is important, ethics must be maintained and this dog eat dog cut throat mentality that pervades society must not continue to be this dominant, especially in a profession that everyone depends on to hold society accountable. You might say here that this is a paradox, but I insist that in this case, the news agency could have at least waited 5 minutes until after the Report was made public to publish its article. Write the article and hold it until such time!

Then internationally, another journalist will know her fate on Wednesday after she upheld her right, according to Journalism 101, that a journalist should never reveal her/his source. She was reporting on information she received that might have prevented a killing in the United States.

I continue to say – journalists must continue to be held accountable for their mandate to build up and not destabilize a country/community. In addition, journalists must be allowed to practice their profession without fear or favour.

To accomplish this, we (yes I said we) need to band together and recognize that we are on the same team trying to accomplish the same goals!

Or are we? Therein may lie the problem that we oftentimes create for ourselves.

Where do we draw the line colleagues, between ratings and sensationalism and good journalism!?

Photo Caption:

My colleagues at the Radio Antilles newsroom of 1989. Spot me? Don’t laugh! That was over 20 years ago, ok!

20130409-194724.jpg

4 thoughts on “Troubling Journalism?

  1. That is food for thought Angie! Thank you for writing that piece” Troubling Journalism.”
    I too, was fortunate to have experienced working at Radio Antilies in the early 80s,which i can say with pride made me a better Broadcaster. As a teenager i often listened to WIBS,which Broadcasted from Grenada and produced seasoned Caribbean Journalists.

    • Yes Sir Third World Man! Those were the days!

      Thanks for reading.

      We can only continue to do our part to uphold the profession and hope that the defaulting new breed learns a thing or two from us.

  2. What’s most needed in the newsroom is that very experienced professional who can guide the young news and sports reporters. Most newsrooms before had many of these veterans but the same can’t be said nowadays.
    Having these veteran news people manage and train news reporters in all areas of the profession on the job is even more valuable than the journalism or communications degree they may obtain. Most colleges and universities just lecture on theoretical media and communications – the real McCoy is on the job training and real production of news and sports.
    The same can be said for announcers and producers. Thanks Angie for your on-point blog, great job.

    • Paul,

      Your response certainly puts my blog into perspective. Thank you.

      I received a response from the news site which suggests that I became “a prisoner of the moment and allow your emotions to run ahead of rationale thinking and fact checking”.

      The reporter sought to justify the site’s action by saying there are reports done by government that the public should know about that are never made public and asked whether reporters should just continue to wait.

      He certainly missed my point, as I fully endorse the media’s responsibility to inform, but I definitely do not condone the method some media employ and the motive exemplified by the slant of the article.

      With this incident and certainly other more outrageous ones in the BVI, where another online news agency for example recently published a story based on a rumor about sexual abuse by a Government Minister and a member of his staff without any facts, I would not be surprised if the government steps in to try and regulate the media.

      Then that would lead to an outcry where some circles would argue this is censorship etc.

      I am watching this one with interest as that would be a sad day for the profession.

      Cheers.

Leave a comment